Tags

, , , , , ,

I have always loved herbs. Even before I cooked or gardened, I grew herbs. Every year I add more to the collection. This year I have lavender, sage, oregano, rosemary, basil, cilantro, thyme, parsley, dill, scallions, garlic, and tarragon. Herbs add such a fresh pop of flavor that you can’t get from anything else. If I grow nothing else, I will always grow herbs.

This salad is perfect in it’s simplicity and healthfulness. The chickpeas are high in protein, fiber, and iron. The feta has calcium and more protein. Parsley is super low cal and full of vitamins A and C. A much better accompaniment than potato chips or fries to your meal. I served this salad with Balsamic Bruschetta Chicken.

One Year Ago: Enchilada Verde with Mexican Rice

Chickpea, Feta, and Parsley Salad (from Simple Provisions)

  • 1/2 medium onion, diced
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 3/4 tbsp olive oil
  • Pinch red chili flakes
  • 1 can chickpeas, drained and rinsed
  • 2 scallions, green part only, chopped
  • 1/2 cup chopped parsley
  • Juice of 1/2 lemon
  • 3 oz of feta
  • Salt and pepper to taste

Heat olive oil and cook the onion till lightly golden. Add garlic and chili. Cook till the garlic is fragrant. Set aside to cool so it doesn’t melt the feta when you mix it in.

Drain the chickpeas, rinse and place in the salad bowl. Add crumbled feta, scallions, parsley and lemon juice; season with salt and pepper. Add the cooled onion, garlic mixture, and remaining oil; mix well. Refrigerate then serve. Serves 3 to 4.